$3M awarded to AK communities for energy efficiency/conservation 

U.S. DOE is giving $3 million dollars in energy efficiency and conservation grants to Alaska communities. The Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant (EECBG) program, funded by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA), provides funds to units of local and state government, Indian tribes, and territories to develop and implement projects to improve energy efficiency and reduce energy use and fossil fuel emissions in their communities. Five Alaska communities will receive the grants, including nearly $2.7 million for Anchorage. The other communities are:

Aleutians East Borough: $50,000
Fairbanks: $164,100
Kenai: $50,000
Ketchikan Gateway Borough: $100,000

For more information on the program, go here

« back