Board of Directors

2017 Board of Directors and Board Committees

Business Constituency

Arctic Energy, Inc. (
Greg Porter, President

Bering Straits Development Corporation (
Robert Bensin, Electrical Administrator
Jerald Brown, Vice President (Alternate)

Cook Inlet Region, Inc. (
Suzanne Settle, Senior Director of Energy Development

Ocean Renewable Power Company (
Monty Worthington, Project Development Director

STG, Inc. (
Dave Myers, Senior Project Manager

V3 Energy (
Doug Vaught, Owner and Principal Engineer

Non-Profit/Educational Institution/Local Government Constituency

Alaska Center for Energy and Power (
Gwen Holdmann, Director
George Roe, Research Professor (Alternate)

Alaska Center for the Environment (
Louie Flora, Legislative Director
Ryan Schryver, Deputy Director (Alternate)

Alaska Power Association (
Crystal Enkvist, Executive Director
Michael Rovito, Director of Member and Public Relations (Alternate)

Institute of the North (
Nils Andreassen, Executive Director

Northwest Arctic Borough (
Ingemar Mathiasson, Energy Manager

Tanana Chiefs Conference (
Dave Messier, Rural Energy Coordinator

Utility Constituency

Alaska Power and Telephone (
Jason Custer, Business Development Director
Greg Mickelson, VP Power Operations (Alternate)

Alaska Village Electric Cooperative (
Meera Kohler, President and CEO

Chugach Electric Association (
Sisi Cooper, Treasurer, Chugach Board Director

Homer Electric Association, Inc. (
Dan Chay, HEA Board Director
Brad Janorschke, CEO (Alternate)

Matanuska Electric Association (
Julie Estey, Director of External Affairs

Unalakleet Valley Electric Cooperative (
Reese Huhta, General Manager

Individual At-Large Constituency

• Dr. Steve Konkel
• Kate Troll
• Jim Nordlund

Want to Serve on REAP’s Board of Directors?

According to Article 5 of REAP’s Bylaws, six new Directors representing organizational constituencies are elected annually for three-year terms. Three At-Large Directors are also elected and serve for one year. There are no term limits. Each year, two seats in the Utility constituency, Business constituency, and Non Profit constituency become open. Representatives from REAP member companies and organizations may run for those seats.   Any individual donor to REAP may run for the At-Large seats. Based on years past, nominations are usually due around the first week of December.

Is This Right For Me? If you have a desire to advance the development of renewable energy and energy efficiency in Alaska, please consider adding your name to the ballot for REAP’s Board of Directors. REAP relies on the efforts and expertise of our Board Members to guide the organization through policy decisions, setting and accomplishing goals, volunteering at events, fundraising, and developing the organization for future success.

The Board Commitment includes: quarterly Board meetings that last approximately 3.5 hours, assisting with fundraising, and making a personal contribution in addition to your organizational membership dues.

The Voting Process: After all nominations are received, the REAP Nominating Committee will prepare a ballot with the names of the Organizational Members and individual donors standing for election. REAP Organizational Members and Board Members will have the opportunity to vote between finalization of the ballot up to one week prior to the Annual Meeting each year. New board members are seated at the end of the Annual Meeting.

2017 Board Committees

Executive Committee

Jim Nordlund, Chair
Crystal Enkvist, Vice Chair
David Myers, Treasurer
Gwen Holdmann, Secretary
Meera Kohler
Douglas Vaught
Sisi Cooper

Public Policy Committee

Jim Nordlund
Suzanne Settle
Crystal Enkvist
Meera Kohler

Gwen Holdmann
Peter Crimp
Doug Vaught
David Myers

Sisi Cooper
Julie Esty
Jason Custer